Life without my phone: Slipping

February 22, 2012 at 12:00 am | Posted in Tech-free Sundays | Leave a comment
Tags: , , ,

Photo by Flickr user justinbaeder

Oops. I love technology too much, apparently.

Two Sundays ago, I went to hang out with some awesome women from Lancaster to discuss “World and Town” by Gish Jen. I needed my GPS to get me there, because I “forgot” to get directions. I realized I rely on that tech gadget to get me anywhere, whereas before I read and memorized directions from MapQuest (is that much better?)

Then, last Sunday, I decided, “aw, fuck it” because I had to work Sunday and it meant breaking my day when I went in at 5 p.m. I am glad I broke it, though, as I got an emergency call from my Mom. The family is now OK and being troopers, but I probably wouldn’t have heard the news until late Sunday if I hadn’t turn my phone on at about 2 p.m.

Was that God’s grace? Probably, as my dad survive blockages near his heart without having a heart attack.

That doesn’t mean I am giving up tech-free Sundays. I get so much more accomplished on these days, with last week completing a 55-page book in one sitting. I listen to classical music, which I love.

Tech-free Sundays might make my Mondays THAT much more hectic, but I am learning from this — to NOT make Mondays hectic and full of chores, to spread out my responsibilities throughout the week while squeezing in my massive triathlon training each day.

I also make lists now, because these responsibilities slip through the cracks on a regular basis.

Life isn’t without slip-ups but it’s all about recognizing your failing, indulging when needed and starting fresh the next time. On Monday I was depressed and pulled down from everything going on. I tried to go to the gym but got very distracted. What did I do? Vegged on the couch. But Tuesday, I picked myself back up and went for a run. It wasn’t the greatest run but I got out there and did it, with will power and confidence.

“Pick yourself up, dust yourself off and start all over again.”

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 676 other followers

