The woes of runner injuries (and more)

April 21, 2012 at 12:00 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

My crazy, blood vessel burst eyeball is staring into your soul!

It is not unusual for my body to hate me so much. I have IBS and I get random pains from that in addition to the bloating, farting, and other poop pains.

How about a few minutes ago, I felt like I was just kicked in the kidneys? That happens quite often, with varying degrees of intensity.

I also seem to be getting major leg cramps and Charley horses, which is weird for me. Low potassium? I’ve tried that method. When I bend over to take off a shoe, I get a massive cramp in the back of my knee. I also love when I get cramps in my feet, but that is not as usual nowadays since I stopped my part-time job convincing people to buy new bath products.

But lately there have been some even weirder things happening (rare, I know.)

First, it was my eye. It looks like the blood vessels exploded. This happened before, a few months ago. I thought it was allergies, but it is so strange. My eye doesn’t itch or hurt, it just looked like the blood vessels couldn’t take it any more and BOOM! good-bye. It doesn’t usually overthrow my whole eye, just in spots, which makes me look like a freak.

I came to the conclusion recently that I think it is my eye shadow that I was using (Avon type that is supposed to take the wrinkles off my eyes and make me look youthful.) In the trash that went! And the eye has gotten better.

Next is my legs, though there is no happy ending with this one.

Awhile ago I got cramps in my calves as I upped my mileage. I tried a variety of methods to get rid of it, like massage and compression socks. I didn’t like the socks when running but after was OK. So things got better, but I hadn’t successfully upped my mileage.

Well, for the first time in my life, even when I landed on my heels for four years as a cheerleader, I got SHIN SPLINTS. They hurt like holy hell.I started icing and taking care of my delicate shins.

But that wasn’t the end. My ankles started to hurt. Then my knees (which is nothing new, as I had problems with them for a long time. but not like this.)

It got so bad that I could barely run last Monday, when temperatures were in the 80s. I decided to walk the three miles instead, making me feel like a disappointment.

I wake up Tuesday and I could barely walk. The pain in my ankles, legs and especially left knee was brutal. This was AFTER I iced my shin splints and wore my compression socks the night before.

Anyone have any advice to what the heck is going on with my legs/body?

My plan for now is to take it slow, cross-train in the pool and in the gym until I feel like my legs are comfortable. I might try slow on the treadmills, so I don’t scare myself. I also will be getting a bike soon, so I can explore the trails that way!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 676 other followers

