50 States, 50 Vegan Dishes: New Jersey vegan disco fries

June 5, 2012 at 10:00 am | Posted in 50 States 50 Vegan Dishes | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Oh, Jersey. You don’t represent yourself well. Look at the MTV show Jersey Shore.

I hate that show. It is most offensive because I am Italian, born and raised. My great-grandfather Silvio immigrated in the early 1900s to pave a better life. And then these … people (for lack of a better word) disgrace the ethnicity.

I also grew up with the joke, “Let’s bomb Jersey and give Pa. a beach.” LOL. (Sorry to all those from New Jersey.)

I will say this, though, they know how to do french fries (and apparently tanning and clubbing.)

When I saw the words “disco fries” on my list, I was intrigued. I LOVE fries. No, I L-O-V-E fries. I loved getting cheese fries when I was younger, and I bet I would still love them now. And I have never had gravy fries, let alone CHEESE, gravy fries!

But really, should I just go straight for a bag of french fries, melted cheese and packet of gravy? No. I had to make things difficult for myself.

First, I wanted to make gravy from scratch. This is where my tried and true chickpea gravy from Isa Moskowitz comes in. And I went with sprinkling cheese instead of globs. Though, looking back, I want globs.

And how can I make the lowly, yummy spud healthy? Well, adding other veggies, such as a sweet potato and a turnip.

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium to large russet potato
  • 1 medium to large sweet potato or yam
  • 1 medium turnip
  • about two Tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 a bag of Daiya cheddar cheese (or mozzarella can work)
  • Ingredients for the silky chickpea gravy from Isa’s “Appetite for Reduction,” which includes a can of chickpeas, an onion, nutritional yeast and most household vegan staples

Recipe:

  1. First, you are going to skin all the veggies and then cut them into thin sticks, or as thin as you can get them.
  2. Put them in a large bowl and sprinkle the 2 Tablespoons of olive oil over them. Mix with a wooden spoon.
  3. Place on a single layer of a baking sheet. It might take more than one batch and more than one tray, depending on your household products. Cool for about 20-30 minutes, continuously checking to see if they are done. Russet potatoes will take longer to cook than the turnip and sweet potato.
  4. While these are baking, make your Silky Chickpea Gravy. It shouldn’t take more than 10-20 minutes (perfect for while the fries cook.)
  5. Once the fries are done, cool for about 10 minutes so they are easy to handle. Then layer the fries and cheese as you would lasagna in a medium-sized baking dish: fries, sprinkle cheese, repeat until you get to the last layer of cheese.
  6. Place these in the oven for about 20 minutes, until the cheese is melted and bubbly.
  7. Take out, place gravy in a bowl and enjoy!

Yes, that is gravy. Oh, so good gravy!

It is such a super easy recipe, especially if you have a party to host. The hardest part in the peeling/cutting, but once you get past that, it is like cake (yum!)

Don’t forget to check out my Virginia post and the long list of places I am going to be cooking from.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] (Deep-Fried Hot Dogs) Tomato Pie (Trenton-Style Pizza) Pork Roll Disco Fries Italian […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 677 other followers

