Urban Vegan reviews

February 4, 2011 at 1:40 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I know, I know. It has been quite some time. I didn’t mean to be gone for so long, it’s just life steals me away.

I was getting into an exercise grove, then on weekends, I didn’t feel like blogging. I also went away to Michigan to visit “in-laws” for 4 days in January. And then, I hurt my wrist when I fell on snow/ice about a week ago.

But, on that note, let’s get to food!

Wayyyyy back, Jamieson and I decided to make blueberry pie, as I am testing for Urban Vegan. Well, it was delicious! I don’t think I have had blueberry pie since turning vegan, and I LOVE blueberries! Jamieson is a master at crust, and he also put his own touches on the crust (can you see the Batman and Wonder Woman symbols?)

Then there was caponata. It reminded me of an Italian ratatouille. I am not a huge fan of olives (hate them, actually), but it did add to the dish. It called for a little bit of sweet, but it wasn’t overpowering. I think the vinegar and other more “sour” vegetables take over. I had it over rice.

Next, I made Italian Mojitos to drink with this dinner. Well, I don’t know if I didn’t crush the mint leaves well (it just said to chop ’em), or maybe sparkling water isn’t sweet enough for me. It wasn’t my favorite, but I think mojitos are on the same line and gin and tonic, and I am more of a wine or sweet alcoholic drink.

I made two desserts. First, what I was most excited about, was the peppermint bark. It was SUPER simple. I still have a lot of it, and I keep trying to hand it off to co-workers, who also enjoy it!

Then I made pear tart tartin. I didn’t have whole wheat pastry flour (I looked everywhere. Where do I get this stuff?) I had to use regular pastry flour, but only 1/2. It was difficult to get out of the pan, as the goo went EVERYWHERE, but it was a sweet, yummy dish. Definitely a hearty winter dessert to warm you up!

Well, I did test a few more, but that can be for another post, so I don’t bog this one down!! Happy Friday!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

