Too soon of a run?

May 25, 2011 at 12:15 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

I might be crazy in some sense, but I am addicted to running. Well, to clarify, I am addicted to reading running blogs, to researching running equipment and daydreaming about running. But actually running, that is not that often.

Now, I’ve ran before and actually trained for my first, and so far only, 5K.

I swear this is me right before a 5K, which I did complete.

Then the winter blues got to me and I have barely just emerged out of my dark weather depression. Sometimes it sucks, and yes I should probably seek professional help, but that’s a different topic for a different time.

Well, I stumbled upon a 5K in my local area (literally a 5 minute drive.) I saw it a few weeks ago, and it’s a midnight run called Midnight in May 5K. But as I figured, it was on a Friday and I usually work until 1 a.m. Fridays.

Well, while looking for 5Ks late last night/early morning (1:30 a.m.) I found the Midnight 5K website again, and guess who happened to switch days with a co-worker a few weeks ago (to help her out for vacation time) and now is free Friday? ME!

But the problem is, I haven’t been training. Heck, I don’t think I ran in more than a week! And the race is in TWO days! I only have time for running today & Friday (I farm Thursdays and will be too exhausted.)

A 5K at midnight is perfect for me, because unlike most people, I am awake at the time without caffeine and usually don’t need to get up with the sun the next day.

But I am afraid — that I will injure myself, that I will suck so bad (I haven’t ran a whole mile on real ground since the Thanksgiving 5K!)

Advice? I sure need it!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

