Is a 5K in two weeks doable?

June 9, 2011 at 9:00 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

So, here I am, talking about running again.

I feel like the most inexperienced runner, yet I have been trying to do this going on three years now. Yes, three years. With only one 5K under my belt, which was 7 months ago.

One word comes to mind: Lame.

And so I have been searching 5Ks in the area and seeing if any of them are doable. (If you don’t know me, I work a night shift Tuesday through Saturday, so 8:30 a.m. races are not considered fun for me, more like torture.)

As you might know, I missed out on a midnight race because of my neglect to keep an eye on my schedule and to keep to my running. But I have been trying to get back on track, only to be sidelined last week by intense allergies and almost sidelined this week by intense heat.

So far this week I have ran about 5 miles. I am trying to get outside as much as I can to beat my body into road-submission, but I did intervals on the treadmill today. I have yet to run 3 miles straight since November 2010.

So, there is this 5K in Baltimore on Sunday, June 26 (The Baltimore Women’s Classic 5K).  It is screaming my name. It’s an 8 a.m. start (ouch!) and I live an hour away. June 26 is about 2 weeks away, give or take a day.

I need tips on a variety of aspects: Do I do it and train hard for it? Do I skip? (I work until 1 a.m. Saturday/Sunday before.) Do I get a hotel instead? (which I can’t go to until after 1 a.m.)

Suggestions, people, suggestions!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

