50 States, 50 Vegan Dishes: Virginia vegan Brunswick Stew

May 21, 2012 at 9:00 am | Posted in 50 States 50 Vegan Dishes | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Projects get out of hand, time slips away. This has been my life since I posted the original 50 States, 50 Vegan Dishes post!

I have started farming again, thinking about decluttering my apartment, hosting a yard sale, among so many other things.

The finished Brunswick Stew, in my crockpot

But I DID start the project, and it was with Virginia: Brunswick Stew.

This was in honor of my three-year anniversary trip to Damascus, Virginia, at the beginning of May. You can read all about that adventure here.

When I did an online search for recipes to veganize, I was confronted with a problem: Both Virginia and Georgia claim they were the creators of the stew. You can read about the history at this Wikipedia page.

The main difference I concluded was the Virginia variety was more tomato-based and was more soup-like. Also, they prefer chicken (also rabbit. ew. ) Also, there are a variety of vegetables each person says to put in, weather it is succotash, lima beans, okra, potatoes and corn, to name a few.

Gardein chick’n

I also found a recipe online for the stew in a crock pot! I was in heaven, as we just got back from our trip and the refrigerator was empty! I also didn’t feel like taking a load of time to cook, as I was tired. I love my trusty crock pot I got for Christmas.

Here are my ingredients:

  • 1 16 oz. can diced tomatoes, undrained
  • 1 6 oz. can tomato paste
  • One package of Gardein chick’n, cut up into chunks
  • 1/2 of a package of frozen okra
  • 1/2 of a package of frozen corn
  • 1 cup onions, chopped
  • 2 1/2 cups of fake chick’n broth (I used Better than Bouillon No Chicken Base)
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried rosemary
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper

Recipe:

  1. First, I added diced tomatoes, tomato paste, frozen okra and corn to the crock pot.
  2. I took out the Gardein chick’n, thawed for 5 minutes and cut them into chunks, adding to crock pot. I then cut up my onion and added it, and then added all the spices.
  3. I finally made my broth (boiled water and a teaspoon or two of the broth base.)
  4. I then stirred the mixture together. I put my timer on the crock pot for about 6 hours and left it be. I would imagine that it would take about 30-40 minutes if you boiled it on medium on a stove, just until it all heated up and incorporated.
  5. Take out the bay leaf and stir before serving. Makes 6 servings.

Right before the broth

Batman loved this recipe. He thought it was great. I think the first day, you can eat it with a piece of bread. It seemed to get thicker as it sat in the refrigerator, so on top of mashed potatoes or rice sounds like a great alternative.

I think it will be great in the warmer months ahead, when tomatoes are ripe, as a cool soup once it is done cooking and has been chilled in the fridge.

I hope you enjoy this dish.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] forget to check out my Virginia post and the long list of places I am going to be cooking from. Share […]

  2. […] Collard Greens Brunswick Stew Oyster Stew Peanut Soup Ham […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

