Yard sale queen? Far from it.

June 17, 2012 at 12:00 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The ruthless picking. My sister is in the blue tied-dyed shirt to the left. Photo by Bethany Fehlinger

On Saturday I emerged out of less than 5 hours of sleep to set up my junk and try to push it onto other people in the hopes I would make a little bit of money.

Yes, I was a yard sale queen. But it was more like flea market queen and I didn’t like my first-time experience.

My mother, my sister, Batman and I finally got to the location late, because of course we “slept in.” By the time we got there, there were people ALREADY rummaging through stuff — piles and piles of stuff.

I learned a few things today, after I encountered many people: THEY ARE CHEAP! THEY ARE STINGY!

I never realized how low our human race has gone until today, when they won’t even give a quarter for something I paid 500% more for in the past. Some stuff was used, yes, but some was BARELY. Some was in great condition.

Other interesting emotions came up today as I gave away (that is what I am calling it) some of my possessions: anxiety and sadness. I was parting with my past and I didn’t like it. I didn’t like that people were putting a price on my past. I am still anxious about a box of jewelry I gave to a guy who offered me $5 for the whole lot. It was a great price but I didn’t get to look through it fully. I hope I didn’t part with things I cared about. I know I did with one, but when will I ever wear a ghetto chain again? Really?

And that brings up another interesting topic: How attached to material goods we get. I am not sure how I can part with most books; yet if it is board games, some clothes and especially jewelry, I have a hard time letting go.

I have some material bond with the times and it is SILLY! Where will it get me when the aliens/zombies/God comes? Nowhere. Unlike the Egyptians,  I can’t take my goods to heaven.

A few hours to go and a lot was actually gone. Photo by Bethany Fehlinger

But we made a bit of cash and I got a nasty sunburn (in my haste I forgot the sunscreen.) You don’t want to see what I look like. It is scary.

But, back to material items, I am going to purge my life of STUFF. I stumbled upon this post by Mark Lowe at Minimalist Lifestyle where he tries to get rid of 1,000 things this summer. Brilliant! I am going to try this, whether it is a few pens or sheets of paper, or more monumental things. I have already went through my whole apartment for the yard sale, yet I know there are things that I don’t need that I am still holding onto.

Here is to the summer, one of decluttering and easy living.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] office, moving to days and finally having weekends and nights off for the first time in five years. Also, I had my first yard sale. My dad almost had a second heart […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

