Potluck kicks off Vegan MoFo

October 1, 2012 at 10:44 am | Posted in VeganMoFo | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , ,

My cheater chili, left, covered by tortilla chips, and the apple cider doughnut in the upper right. Clockwise: some no-named rice dish, spicy peanut salad, and a little salsa near the chili. Middle: potatoes and green beans.

I started Vegan MoFo 2012 a day early at the potluck for my CSA. Crew members and share holders gathered in the cool, fall air for some great eats and good conversation. I stayed about two hours until the sun went down.

It has been a hectic weekend, with visiting my family and driving to see my sister at college. It was fun but exhausting. I was really looking forward to the potluck, and couldn’t wait to bring my goodies.

I made cheater chili from The Vegan Slow Cooker and apple cider doughnuts from September 2009”s Vegetarian Times. My doughnuts aren’t mini like the recipe suggests, as I have a full-sized-doughnut pan. I had to make a double batch to get about 18-20 doughnuts.

I am not a big fan of chili, but I LOVED the cheater chili.  It is SUPER easy to make, though a little watery from what I think the texture of chili should be. I was told to add some tomato paste to the mix. Also, it was just spicy enough for me, and I am not a fan of spicy. It says to add chili powder and Tabasco sauce to taste, and I think that is a good suggestion, especially for those who are not fans of the very spicy foods.

Also at the potluck was a few vegan choices, such as sliced potatoes with green beans, a rice dish and some spicy peanut salad. Everything was yummy and I went back for seconds!

I have four more posts to go for the week, and hopefully I make some awesome things! I try to put myself on a budget for each month, only spending about $25 a week to make good things. Let’s see if I can do that this week!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] As I mentioned in a previous post, I am on a budget so about $9 was sucked up buying Daiya cheddar and mozzarella for this mac and cheese. I really wanted it, obviously. It also calls for some soy milk, some pasta, and some liquid smoke. I threw in a little chili powder for a kick, because it suggested chipotle powder mix and I had none. […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

