Comfort food: Smoky mac ‘n’ cheese in the crockpot

October 3, 2012 at 11:09 am | Posted in VeganMoFo | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I almost forgot to take a photo! It smelled and looked so yummy!

It’s another dreary morning here in Pennsylvania. It rained very hard yesterday, which I got stuck in while needing to fill my tires. They always like to give me the low tire pressure signal when it is down-pouring.

I went to sleep hearing the rain, and woke up with still another cloudy day. We won’t get relief from this mess until Friday, though it is warmer outside today (read: humid.)

Also, it has been getting chilly and I really need to pull out the winter clothes.

That only means that comfort food is on the way!

I love my crockpot, despite it being quite dysfunctional. I made the cheater chili in it, and took another cue from The Vegan Slow Cooker to make smoky mac ‘n’ cheese.

As I mentioned in a previous post, I am on a budget so about $9 was sucked up buying Daiya cheddar and mozzarella for this mac and cheese. I really wanted it, obviously. It also calls for some soy milk, some pasta, and some liquid smoke. I threw in a little chili powder for a kick, because it suggested chipotle powder mix and I had none.

It was scrumptious and I actually got FULL from eating it! (note: I rarely get full from eating pasta, no matter how much of it I eat.)

Though, I wish it was a little more smoky and had a little more of a kick. That was my fault with being so cautious while adding the spice, so now I know.

It lasted me a good two days, though I did eat it over three meals. I wish I could have made it last longer, but I was lazy last night and not in the mood to cook.

What is your favorite thing to cook in a crockpot? What are some other recipes to use Daiya in? (I have a bunch left over!)

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. what is it about the crockpot that is so comforting? the best meals come from crockpots! Yours looks delish!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

