Trying something again: Sweet Potato Kugel

October 5, 2012 at 4:59 pm | Posted in VeganMoFo | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,

I had tried to make Kugel once before, when I was taste-testing for a cookbook (This cookbook.)

It was made with noodles and it turned out badly. I don’t know if it was me, or I am not used to this Jewish tradition.

According to Wikipedia: “Kugels are a mainstay of festive meals in Ashkenazi Jewish (Jews of Eastern European descent) homes, particularly on the Jewish Sabbath and other Jewish holidays or at a Tish. Some Hasidic Jews believe that eating kugel on the Jewish Sabbath brings special spiritual blessing …”

Apparently it is a pudding or casserole, and it makes sense now because it is a PAIN to bake!

I used this recipe by Healthy Bitch Daily. I shredded and grated my arms off, realizing later I should have used my food processor. The apples were super juicy, so I probably didn’t need the 1 cup of apple juice (which is what I used.) And I used almonds instead of walnuts, because I was all out of walnuts. Oh, and I added a smidgen of soy flour, because I didn’t want to waste another bag of matzoh for barely a 1/4 of a cup needed still.

I then baked it for 45 minutes. I touched the cake and it was mushy still. I baked for another 45, until it was golden brown on the top, just like the recipe said it would be 90 minutes prior. Well, when I eat it, it is still a bit mushy inside.

Now, I like the sweet potato one better than the noodle one. I think the regular noodles didn’t serve it well, as egg noodles aren’t vegan-friendly.

I will say it looks NOTHING like the photo on the Healthy Bitch Daily website suggests. Bread or cake? Not so much. Will I make it again? Probably not, but at least this time, I will eat it and it won’t go to waste.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. This sounds amazing.

  2. I’ve never had kugel but I’ve always wanted to because I like the name! Yours looks good 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

