Vegan McDonald’s switch: ‘egg mcguffin’

October 23, 2012 at 10:00 am | Posted in VeganMoFo | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Egg McGuffin by Alicia Simpson

Breakfast sandwiches always stare at me when I get up early enough to eat breakfast and happen into a Sheetz or other fast food place, like McDonald’s. The fact they come from a fast-food place doesn’t make them healthy, but I am hungry for one nonetheless.

It has been a long time since I had a breakfast sandwich.

And then I stumbled upon the egg mcguffin recipe in Alicia Simpson’s “Quick and Easy Vegan Comfort Food,” and all I could do is think “YESSSS!”

I was super excited to make these, but there was going to be one modification: the vegan meat. I needed Lightlife Smart Bacon for another recipe, and vegan breakfast sausage patties are hard to come by (though I did find new ones by Gardein in Baltimore Saturday night.)

Flaky, toasted bread? Check. Faux meat and cheese? Check. Then came the tofu “egg,” which surprisingly held up well and tasted similar to eggs (without the cruelty), even if it gunked up my Magic Bullet blender.

It was great and kept me full to lunch, which is a rarity these days. It can be quite high in calories, especially for something I am not used to eating in the morning (I ate two. They were just too yummy.) But it great after a run or gym time before work.

I recommend making the tofu “egg” patty the night before, because it is a pain when you are rushing in the first place. Also, melt the cheese with your toaster oven on the bread if you have one.

I can’t wait to make more. I highly recommend these for the busy person who needs a dish with a good amount of protein in the morning.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’ve had my eye on this recipe, though I’m always a bit nervous trying tofu recipes where the tofu is trying to be something else.

    • I don’t know what your feelings are on plain tofu, because it is an acquired taste, but the second day I was such in a rush, I just threw the tofu in the pan and let it cook for 5 minutes before slapping it on the sandwich and running out the door. It wasn’t as flavorful as the day before, but wasn’t nasty either. I feel like well-pressed, silken tofu works the best for this recipe. It has that … flaky (if that’s the right word) consistency that scrambled eggs has.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

