Vegan MoFo 2012 fail and maple pecan French toast

November 1, 2012 at 12:56 pm | Posted in VeganMoFo | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Finished maple pecan French toast by ‘Vegan Bites’

I seem to be incredibly good at failing at Vegan MoFo! As I have said before, my life is super busy, especially now that I work days. I write and edit for eight hours a day, and I am lucky if I can read or write after that!

I will be participating in NaNoWriMo, but that doesn’t mean you won’t hear from me! I plan on finishing out the rest of my Vegan MoFo dishes (about eight or nine posts) and then maybe trying post a day from The Daily Post. I don’t know if I will do this EVERY day, but it will keep my creative juices flowing.

See, I wake up early to run, and then I get ready for work. At work, I write, edit, blog, talk, meet, etc., etc. At 6 p.m., I go home. When I am home, I sometimes go to the gym. Maybe I cook dinner. Usually I am glued to Netflix, this time around watching “Gossip Girl.” Before I know it, it is late and I need to sleep. I catch up on blog posts on Google Reader as I drift into sleep.

Sometimes I need to do chores. Or go to events. Or meet with people. Or travel.

When do I have time to write? Well, I do but I am HORRIBLE at prioritizing.

So, onto the foods!

From Vegan Bites, which is a cookbook for single vegans, there were a few recipes that caught my eye. Since veganism has taken off so much, sometimes the recipes in cookbooks are just … all the same. I know how to make certain dishes, but for newbie vegans, these cookbooks are GREAT.

I saw a simple recipe for French toast, my ALL-TIME favorite food from the past.

Waiting to be placed in the pan

I will say that it is hard to make a quick vegan French toast. Usually the batter takes some time to cook, as was the case with the maple pecan French toast. I don’t mind too much, as long as it cooks through.

The ingredients were simple, but low in fat or calories this is NOT. It was 700 calories for the serving size of two slices.

Would I try this again? Sure. I have my Magic Bullet blender, a plate and a frying pan. That’s all you really need for this.

What is your favorite breakfast food? I miss brunch sometimes, because not many local places offer great vegan options.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

