York County vegans meet for first potluck

November 2, 2012 at 10:00 am | Posted in VeganMoFo | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

York County Vegans potluck. Photo by Jeff Stabley.

A while ago, my friend Anna invited me to join a Facebook group for vegans in York County, Pennsylvania. We chat and share information, but that is about it.

I had started going to the Baltimore vegan meet-ups once my schedule changed. It was about an hour drive, and as much as I love the food at Mr. Chan’s, driving was always a pain.

I looked on our group of close to 100 people and thought, “Why exactly aren’t we having vegan meet-ups here?” We have at least two restaurants that have vegan options, and many of us have mad cooking and baking skills. What exactly is wrong with us!?

So, I started the initiative. We met at Nittany Pizza for the first one, and about 15 of us showed up.

Then, a group member, Jeff, volunteered to host October’s potluck. We said what we were bringing, and then on a fall Wednesday evening, we went to Jeff and his wife’s home.

There was about 10 or so of us, which was great for the first one. We had an array of food: Indian, Mexican and fall

And puppies, too! Left bottom and center. Photo by Jeff Stabley.

delights. LBJ brought his county-famous vegan mac and cheese. Batman, the omni that he is, RAVED about the buffalo chickpea dip and requested the recipe. We chatted, discussed and enjoyed our labor for food.

I think it went well. I really enjoyed meeting up with local people, making connections, and playing with puppies!

I can’t wait for the next one.

Interested in joining our group? Email yorkcovegans@gmail.com.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Sounds like a blast! Almost wish I was vegan so I could join in.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

