Daily Prompt: 46-year-old me

November 3, 2012 at 5:30 pm | Posted in Post A Day | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , ,

Another piece of advice for myself. Flickr photo by viewoftheworld

It is really hard for me to fathom writing to myself in 20 years. If I have learned anything about life, it’s that it is unpredictable. I can look forward in certain aspects, but not many. It is easier for me to look back and analyze.

The past eight years especially have been a whirlwind.  So many things have changed so rapidly in my life, I’m not exactly sure how to predict the future.

I think I will list things that I hope my 46-year-old self has accomplished by this time:

Own a home. Have a little plot of land that you can garden, grow, destroy and do as you wish.

Marry the man I love. Spend my life with him.

I want to say kids, as everyone says kids. For the longest time, I wanted kids. But now, I feel like I need to leave that up to fate and God.

Doing a job I love, or at least like.  I need to pay the bills. I am hoping to stay in journalism for the long run, but you never know where life will take you.

Be healthy. This is important, as I have so many diseases in my genetic pool, most importantly heart disease. I already struggle with my weight, but maybe by that time, I will be happy and fit.

Bucket list to 30 is finished; closer to finishing my 50-year-old’s bucket list.

Be debt-free. Oh, God, I hope.

I want to tell my 46-year-old self to be strong. You have been through so much in the first 26 years, and another 20 will only make you wiser.

I hope you cherished the years with your parents and your connection with your siblings is stronger than ever.

Don’t kill your mother-in-law; she might drive you CRAZY but she loves you and her efforts come from her good heart, even when it doesn’t seem like it.

Be the Wonder Woman and warrior you are. When life gets you down, you know that the grass is always greener on the other side, and that the sun WILL come out tomorrow.

Also, I hope that patience you learned a long time ago had come in handy.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

