Vegan PB&J smoothies

September 17, 2013 at 10:00 am | Posted in recipe, VeganMoFo | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
Photo by Bethany Fehlinger

Photo by Bethany Fehlinger

No wonder we are related: My cousin Shelby from Little Miss Type A made a healthy way to enjoy a PB&J — this time in smoothie form.

I actually hated peanut butter as a child and only discovered the joys of it within the past three years. Now, I can’t get enough of it and that can be a problem because of the high calories and fats, despite it being good fat.

I took Shelby’s recipe, subtracted the ground flax and used strawberries, PB2 powdered peanut butter, the banana and Silk Lite milk. For Jamieson’s, he added powdered unsweetened cocoa, but it really came out bitter. I would recommend a little bit of chocolate syrup, chocolate chips or cacao nips.

160x220_g3The next day I tried it with a bit of my homemade strawberry jam and that hit the spot, too.

According to its website, PB2 is “PB2 has the same consistency as full fat peanut butter with all of the natural roasted peanut flavor, but with nearly 85% less fat calories.” It is really awesome and tastes just the same, as far as in smoothies. I haven’t tried it elsewhere yet.

What is your favorite smoothie?

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.